March for Science, April 22, 2017, Washington D.C.

Over the course of the next few days, I will post my story about the March For Science in Washington D.C. I would like to thank everyone who took the time to speak with me that day. I enjoyed meeting every one of you, and I will endeavor to include all your quotes in my story if I can. You will see below a link for a video, but before I get to that, I would like to preface it with this:
Never in my lifetime have I witnessed such a massive outcry against a sitting president, nor have I seen a political protest so widespread. I am not referring to the March for Science alone, I am referring to all the protests, large and small, that have occurred and no doubt will occur until President Trump leaves office.

Some people believe wholeheartedly that protests are ineffective and need to stop, but they are wrong. The protest march is as American an institution as baseball or apple pie. It will not and should not ever die. The moment we tuck our tails between our legs and passively accept the machinations of the powers that be – the day we stop caring – will be the day the soul of America dies.

18033041_1516189178392894_1111066232438501339_n

Photo by Bradley Wells

That being said, I was never very politically active before November 8, 2016. But when Trump won the election, that all changed. Not only did it expose how sundered this nation actually is, it shined a bright light on the faults in our political system. Of course, my protest began before election day. The culmination of my feelings on the alarming popularity of Trump’s candidacy during the presidential campaign is encapsulated in this blog post .

I am not sure what our collective voices can do to illicit real change, but there are many economists and political scientists who attest that non-violent protests are effective ways to alter the status quo. See the links below for more on that.

Now for the video…

As my friends and I crossed Constitution Avenue and began our trek towards the National Mall, Thomas Dolby took the stage to sing his 80’s classic, “She blinded me with science.” The song began the moment we arrived, as if to welcome us…

Blinded with Science – April 22, 2017 – Washington D.C.

Please note: This is a link to my video on Facebook. You must have a Facebook page yourself to view this.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Here are some links about how protests can affect change:

A Harvard study identified the precise reason protests are an effective way to cause political change

Why Non-Violent Protests Work

5 of the Most Influential Protests in History

It seems that Marching for Science is working

March For Science logo

Leave a Reply

